A busy season of barbecues, graduation parties and trips Up North is about to kick off and, in anticipation, the national Click It or Ticket campaign has begun.
Officers from more than 200 Michigan law enforcement agencies will work to enforce the state's seat belt law, which requires all drivers, as well as passengers in the front seat or who are 15 or younger, to buckle up.
"Michigan has a primary seat belt law, which means law enforcement can stop and ticket motorists solely for not being buckled up," according to the Michigan State Police website.
The law also says children must ride in a car seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old or 4'9" tall, whichever comes first. Those who do not comply could face a $65 fine.
The Click It or Ticket campaign, which is federally funded, lasts through June 5.