Whalers Owner Peter Karmanos Jr. Receives USA Hockey Award

Karmanos to receive Distinguished Achievement award.

The awards continue for Compuware Chairman/CEO and Plymouth Whalers owner Peter Karmanos Jr.

Karmanos will receive USA Hockey's Distinguished Achivement Award as part of USA Hockey's 75th Anniversary Gala on Saturday in Colorado Springs, CO.

Here's the release from USA Hockey:

COLORADO SPRINGS, CO - USA Hockey will conclude its diamond jubilee season with a special 75th Anniversary Gala tomorrow (June 8) at the Broadmoor International Center in Colorado Springs, Colo. Highlighting the event will be the celebration of five gold-medal winning U.S. teams: 1960 Men's Olympic Team1980 Men's Olympic Team1996 World Cup Team,1998 Women's Olympic Team and 2010 Paralympic Team.

Two players from each of the five teams will take part in an on-stage remembrance of their squad's significant achievement during the Gala, including John Mayasich and Dick Meredith from 1960; Jim Craig and Mark Johnson from 1980; Brian Leetch and Mike Richter from 1996; Karyn Bye-Dietz and Katie King-Crowley from 1998; and Steve Cash and Alexi Salamone from 2010.

Additionally, USA Hockey will honor Peter Karmanos, Jr. (Raleigh, N.C.), owner of the Carolina Hurricanes and executive chairman of the board of Compuware Corporation, with the Distinguished Achievement Award; Paul Moore (Falmouth, Mass.) with the Wm. Thayer Tutt Award; and Jack Johnson (Ann Arbor, Mich.) as the Bob Johnson Award recipient.

The Gala, which is completely sold-out, will also include remarks from special guests that include Gary Bettman, commissioner of the National Hockey League; Murray Costello, vice president of the International Ice Hockey Federation; and Scott Blackmun, chief executive officer of the United States Olympic Committee.

See the rest of the release.

Karmanos has been recognized locally and nationally for his contribution to hockey.

In 1998, Karmanos received the National Hockey League’s Lester Patrick Award, given annually to persons who are recognized for “outstanding service to hockey in the United States.” 

In 2010, Karmanos won the Ontario Hockey League’s Bill Long Award for Distinguished Service. The award is presented in recognition of an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the OHL.

Karmanos was also elected to the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame in 2010.   

MORE CONTENT: Compuware Youth Program Remains a Standard of Excellence.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »